Reviews

What people are saying about Thornloe Guest House




lovely spacious house with the best view of harbor - Rating 5/5

I wish we could have stayed longer.This is a lovely house on the hill with rooms havingspectacular views of the harbor and islands. a short walk to town on pedestrian path, great breakfast, outdoor terrace and indoor glassed-in sun room if the wind is too strong.Such kind attention and flexibility for our schedule. On site parking.We loved staying there and this will be our place in Oban from now on, to be recommended to a few selected close friends. Thanks for the great time.

Response

Thank you for your kind comments, was lovely to have you stay.Many ThanksEmma

Reviewer:Sarah E S | Fri 14th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Rosemarie from Australia - Rating 5/5

A welcoming friendly guest house in a great location with a beautiful view overlooking the bay. Good parking. Everything perfect.

Reviewer:Rosemarie T | Fri 7th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Casa carina e superhost! - Rating 5/5

Superdisponibile la proprietaria, casa accogliente e comoda in posizione subito al ridosso del porto vicino ai piu' importanti ristoranti della zona.

Reviewer:Mara A | Tue 28th Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Fine place to rest - Rating 4/5

This is an immaculate guest house on a quiet street offering a great night’s sleep. But traffic in Oban is a big issue and this location is far from ferry terminal and shooing and parking is very difficult.

Reviewer:Kimberly R | Sat 25th Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Perfect location - Rating 5/5

Room large and clean. Bed comfortable. Good breakfast.

Reviewer:Federico B | Fri 24th Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Fabulous guest house.Spotless.Incredibly helpful staff.Great views.Great breakfast.Whats not to like? - Rating 5/5

This guest house is spotless.All of our party commentated on how comfortable the beds were and what a great sleep we all had.Great breakfast.Staff was so friendly and accomodating.Views were great.Easy to walk to the High Street.

Reviewer:Heather S | Wed 22nd Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

I have stayed in many properties during my 9 days in Scottland. This is the most welcoming and cleanest one. Best views in the village, you can see everything from the ground floor as it is on a hill. Room size is perfect and cosy. Breakfast was tasted and had multiple options :). Highly recommanded

Reviewer:Michael B | Sat 18th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Lovely House - Rating 5/5

We very much enjoyed our stay at Thornloe. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was tasty. The view from our room toward the water was beautiful!

Reviewer:Brandi W | Thu 16th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


wanderful staying - Rating 5/5

Wanderful staying wanderful customer care wanderful breakfast

Reviewer:STEFANO F | Wed 15th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


A very pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

My wife and I recently spent two nights at the Thornloe Guesthouse.Our room was tidy and quiet, breakfast was freshly prepared each morning, and the owners were pleasant and helpful. We would certainly stay here again if we were to return to Oban.

Reviewer:Carl W | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


First class - Rating 5/5

Wonderful views. Great room. Very welcoming and flexible.

Reviewer:Brian N | Sun 12th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Found the Thornloe to be a good venue for visiting Oban.Excellent views, close to the centre and very good value for money.Our room was spotless and the breakfast was very good.

Reviewer:Graham B | Sat 4th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Charming Stay - Rating 5/5

Highly recommend booking your stay in Oban at this guest house.We had a sea view room and the view was lovely.Our host was eager to assist and quite friendly.We selected full Scottish breakfasts and enjoyed every bite. Only thing lacking was a lift, but we so understand why there isn’t one!

Reviewer:Brian K | Fri 3rd Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Estupendo alojamiento - Rating 5/5

Muy bonito y bien situado. El desayuno estupendo.

Reviewer:Maria Luisa Ezquerra L | Wed 1st Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Very pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

Magnificent view over Oban from our bedroom window. Although only one night stay we found this a very welcoming and pleasant stay.Our en suit was delightful and ipnto a high standard. Definitely stay here chain when back in Oban.

Reviewer:Dave S | Tue 31st Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


Awesome- Rating 5/5

This was a wonderful guest house.The staff, location, food and helpfulness were exceptional.If we ever make it back to Oban I hope to stay here again.

Reviewer:Matthew W W | Sun 29th Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


Spacious, Clean, Convenient - Rating 5/5

The bed and breakfast is conveniently located, has clean and spacious rooms, and is run by a hospitable host. Breakfast was a delight! We recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone visiting Oban and surrounding areas.

Reviewer:Laura C | Sat 28th Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


Wonderful Break in a fab Guesthouse- Rating 5/5

Spent 3 nights in this lovely B& B and would highly recommend. Our Room overlooked the water, and the views were spectacular.The room was an ideal size and immaculately clean, it had a spacious bathroom with a great big shower which also had an eco option! Impressive, looking after the environment which was a nice touch.Tea/coffee making facilities provided in the room to.Breakfast catered for everyone, and I was working my way through the prepared options just missing out on kippers! You really are spoilt for choice.We were lucky enough to be able to sit out on the decking, watching the boats from afar and listening to the birds, it really is a tranquil place.Plus when it became cooler or when the rain came we sat in the large conservatory in the evening BYOB lol which was a huge plus factor.Lovely, friendly people who looked after us very well, will look forward to going back.

Reviewer:Mrs Alana S | Wed 18th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Perfect for family - Rating 5/5

Perfecto para viajar con niños, habitaciones contigüas. Vistas preciosas de Oban. Cerca de todo, se puede llegar andando a todo en 5-10min. Personal muy amable y atento,nos ayudó con un problema en el coche. Desayuno correcto.

Reviewer:Manuel Barreiro de A | Tue 17th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Voyage de noce - Rating 5/5

Superbe vue, proche du centre, petit déjeuner excellent. Propre.

Response

Thank you for your lovely review

Reviewer:a | Sun 15th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


successful stay - Rating 5/5

very friendly and helpful, many thanks!

Reviewer:Paul Z | Sat 14th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Good choice - Rating 5/5

I had never been to Oban before. I chose it as a one night stop over on our way back from the Highlands. Likewise I chose Thornloe for it's location and was very pleased. A lovely clean welcoming house with great views over the sea.we received a warm welcome and enjoyed an excellent breakfast before leaving. I would definitely recommend this guest house

Reviewer:Michael H | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Dream Bedroom on a Hill - Rating 5/5

We had such a lovely stay at Thornloe in Oban. The house is situated on the hillside overlooking the town (and out a 3 minute walk to town center) and offers expanse views of the sea, puttering boat traffic, and the neighboring isles. With the windows open we could feel the sea breeze, sit in two arm chairs overlooking he bay, and drink a scotch while the world passed by. The owner and staff were wonderfully friendly and breakfast, in a dining nook looking out to the sea, was delightful and a great way to start our journey to Glencoe and Skye. Thanks again for a wonderful stay and we’ll be back!

Reviewer:Thomas P | Sun 8th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Great place to stay in Oban!- Rating 5/5

Thornloe met all of our needs and more. This is a beautiful guest house, our room being spacious, clean, and withgreat views over the Bay(We had the four poster bed room.). Emma and Paul made us very welcome. The breakfasts were excellent. Only a 10 minute walk to station and ferry terminal, and a short walk to shops, restaurants etc. Highly recommend this accommodation. Thank you Emma and Paul.

Reviewer:Margaret and David B | Thu 28th Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


Thornloe Guest House - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our two nights at Thornloe.Very comfortable and excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:Norah A | Sat 23rd Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


booker - Rating 5/5

Absolutely loved the house, the view, the location and owners.Would recommend this B & B hands down.We were only able to stay 2 nights but wished for more!

Reviewer:Jon M | Wed 20th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Nice place, friendly people, great breakfast, good parking and near town center. My wife was hobbling badly after twisting her ankle and they very kindly gave her a lift down to the town in the evening as she was struggling to walk. Ticks all our boxes.

Reviewer:Anne C | Sat 16th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Very good - Rating 4/5

A fantastic place to stay view excellent won’t be the last time I stay hereBreakfast just a bit early thiugh

Reviewer:John A | Tue 12th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Great view, out to sea & central location to get about - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome the minute you cross the door. Clear, fresh, comfortable and lovely breakfast guaranteed. Visit Oban, you know you want to.

Reviewer:Kristine J | Mon 11th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Lovely 2 Nights at Thornloe - Rating 5/5

Just spent a fantastic 2 days at Thornloe. We had spacious room with an amazing sea view. Breakfast delicious. Only a few minutes walk down into town.We would definitely recommend. Thank you

Reviewer:Andrew B | Sun 10th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Lovely guesthouse - Rating 5/5

Great guesthouse! Our room and the grounds were absolutely lovely. The view of Oban is spectacular. Staff was very friendly as well. It's a bit of a walk to town (10-15 min) up a hill but we didn't mind the exercise. Didn't get a chance to try the breakfast as we are late sleepers but it smelled great. One thing to note:the wifi on the top floor is VERY weak.

Response

Thank you for you lovely commentsEmma and Paul

Reviewer:Zina R | Fri 8th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Three night visit,- Rating 5/5

Had a very nice stay thank you,Clean room and bathroom, Tasty breakfast with plenty of choice. Couldn't ask for more of a guest house. Once again thank's.

Response

Thank you for your comments, pleasure having you stay with us.Emma and Paul

Reviewer:Antony K | Fri 8th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Magic spot - Rating 5/5

Wonderful people, exquisite view, walk to everything, delightful rooms. Perfect stay!!

Response

Thank you for your lovely comments.Emma and Paul

Reviewer:Ted C | Tue 5th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Amazing room! - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Thornloe on Friday night. We stayed in the room with the king size 4 poster bed. The view was absolutely stunning! The room was spacious and immaculate, with fantastic amenities!The staff were kind and welcoming and I would definitely recommend staying here!! Fantastic location as well!

Response

Thank you for your lovely commentsEmma and Paul

Reviewer:Fiona M | Sun 3rd Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Welcoming, clean, comfortable, great location and breakfast. Would stay again.

Reviewer:Moira S | Thu 31st May 2018 | 5 months ago


Perfect little place in Oban - Rating 5/5

Thornloe is a beautiful guesthouse bed and breakfast style. It's so well decorated and the bed is really comfortable. We had a sea view which was spectacular. The breakfast was hearty and really tasty. A little desk or side table would be a nice touch for those who need to do some work, and the WiFi is excellent. I do wish there were bug screens because the cross breeze is fantastic but it did let in flies. Otherwise this place is perfect. Very kind proprietors.

Reviewer:Caitlin M | Tue 29th May 2018 | 5 months ago


Thornloe Guest House - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay at Thornloe. Our room was spacious and had a great view of Oban bay. Everything was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was excellent. Would highly recommend this B & B

Reviewer:Linda F | Tue 29th May 2018 | 5 months ago


Great stay all around.- Rating 5/5

Beautiful and comfortable facility, great food, great location.

Reviewer:Andrea M | Sat 26th May 2018 | 5 months ago


Thornloe - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant stay, Hotel clean, friendly and good central location. Had sea view room which was fantastic. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:David & Karen T | Tue 15th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Great weekend - Rating 5/5

We had a great weekend staying at the Thornloe guest house. Accomodation very comfortable and clean. Excellent location near the town centre. Breakfast was first class and the hospitality and local knowledge of the hostess was excellemt. Overall a great weekend.Thankyou Thornloe

Reviewer:Timothy W | Mon 30th Apr 2018 | 6 months ago


Beautiful and relaxing stay - Rating 5/5

We were only here one night but it was such a nice break from the hectic schedule we have been keeping.Beds were comfortable, wifi was strong, owner was friendly, and the breakfast was delicious. Furthermore, it is a very short walk to nearly anything one might need.Overall it was a refreshing stay, especially with such wonderful views from the guesthouse.Would stay here again if I were in town.Highly recommended.

Response

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.Valerie & Alan Bichener

Reviewer:Arthur H | Sat 17th Feb 2018 | 9 months ago


3 night stay - Rating 5/5

Loved the room, lovely, spacious, very clean and bed was soooo comfy. The view from the room was amazing. Hostess was lovely, breakfast wonderful.

Response

Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to see-ing you on your next trip to Oban.

Reviewer:Michael M | Sat 15th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Super friendly - Great View - Lovely Breakfast - Rating 5/5

What a gem of a place to find. Excellent quality, in a great location, fantastic view across to Mull, friendly owners and a top notch breakfast. Definitely one to return to. Thank You

Response

Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to see-ing you on your next trip.Alan & Valerie

Reviewer:Mr. John F | Tue 4th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


New Year in Oban! - Rating 5/5

Very clean & welcoming B& B, great hearty breakfast!. The room we had, room 2, waslovely & warm & very spacious, with a fantastic view across the bay. Hope to see in New year 2017 here again, see you in December!

Response

Glad you both enjoyed your break. See you later this year.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jennifer M | Thu 12th Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


2 day break - Rating 5/5

Had a good stay view from room was amazingHost very welcomingBreakfast was greatGreat place to stay

Response

Glad you enjoyed yourselves. Hope to see you again.

Reviewer:James S | Mon 2nd Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


good location - Rating 4/5

Had a very comfortabe two night stay. The little extra touches were appreciated. Pleanty of choices for breakfast.

Response

Many thanks and look forward to welcoming you back to Thornloe next time.

Reviewer:Irene W | Mon 2nd May 2016 | 2 years ago


Oban Stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent room and very large and comfortable bed -well deserved 4 star B& B and the breakfast was one of the best for a long time.

Response

Many thanks for the lovely review Mike.

Reviewer:Mike G | Sat 17th Oct 2015 | 3 years ago


Perfect accommodation. - Rating 5/5

Staying @ Thornloe made our stay in Oban perfect. This is our 3rd time in Oban and this was our best accommodation. The Guest house has brilliant comfortable beds, good breakfast plus a great location close to town centre. Thank-you for our lovely stay.

Response

Thanks and look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Reviewer:Anne N | Fri 25th Sep 2015 | 3 years ago


Geology History reading - Rating 5/5

The Map that Changed the World, by Simon Winchester.As a geology student this book is highly recommended.

Response

Thanks for that. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Keith M | Sat 11th Oct 2014 | 4 years ago


Thornloe Guest House - Rating 4/5

James Campbell was our guide who made the reservation. Although we would have had trouble finding the house on our own, the room was excellent!! Very large, clean, quiet, with a gorgeous view of the bay. Our hosts were very friendly, and the breakfast was delicious. I would recommend this guest house to anyone staying in Oban.C. Jackson, USA

Response

Many thanks

Reviewer:James C | Fri 25th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent welcome, accommodation and food. Should we return to Oban, the B & B address is obvious!

Reviewer:Martin T | Fri 7th Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


Thank you! - Rating 5/5

If we are back in Oban-we know where to stay...

Reviewer:Ms. Dorota M | Wed 22nd May 2013 | 5 years ago


Top B&B - Rating 4/5

Great place well located in Oban. Very comfortable and welcoming. Excellent breakfast

Reviewer:MrNeil J | Sun 19th May 2013 | 5 years ago


Full marks - Rating 5/5

Very friendly welcome, immaculate room, delicious breakfast. Sorry that our stay was only for one night. As for the view..... couldn't be better, even through the rain! Thank you again.....will spread the word!

Reviewer:Jinty M | Tue 16th Apr 2013 | 5 years ago


Thank you! - Rating 5/5

The room, the view and breakfasts were perfect! We had a great time in Oban.

Reviewer:Miss. Lorraine F | Mon 8th Apr 2013 | 5 years ago


Excellent B+B – Relaxing Stay – Amazing View - Rating 5/5

We stayed in Room 6 which had been advertised as having ‘a sea view’, I am often wary of these claims as ‘the view’ is often only seen if you have a very good imagination!Not so here, the view was stunning, looking out over Oban Bay across to the Isle of Mull. We were able to watch the ferries, boats coming and going and on the weekend we stayed there was even a sperm whale in the bay. The room was spotless and the bed enormous and extremely comfortable, I enjoyed the best nights sleep in ages.The breakfast was fantastic with plenty of choice to cater for any taste all washed down with a large pot of excellent coffee.Val our host was friendly and nothing was too much trouble, even making us an early breakfast and recommending places to eat.Location wise it's perfect, only a few minutes walk into town and access to all that Oban has to offer.We would recommend Thornloe asthe place to stay in Oban.Many thanks for a great stay.

Response

Thanks JaneGlad you both enjoyed your stay- yes we definitely have stunning views in fact I photographed the whale from your window !!. He is still here.We aim to provide large comfortable beds and a good choice of freshly cooked breakfasts using local produce where possible and pleased to read your lovely comments.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jane T | Wed 3rd Apr 2013 | 5 years ago


Why I keep returning! - Rating 5/5

Great welcome from Val at Thornloe each time- feel at home immediately- nothing's a bother to her(even gave lift to station as raining when I left!) Very comfy bed, good cupboard space, radiator still on at midnight and again early morning - a definite plus atmy age( mid sixties);lovely clean toilet/ shower room, heated towel rail ;delicious breakfast in spotlessly clean dining room, linen table covers and napkins, excellent selection of cereal, fresh fruit etc, milk and fresh juice in small fridge and superb view over bay( same from some bedrooms). No complaints- highly recommend - also, pricewise excellent value for money.... brilliant packed breakfast provided if leaving on early train-what more could a body ask?!

Response

Thanks Erika for the lovely commentsSee you next year!!Val

Reviewer:Erika F | Sat 9th Mar 2013 | 5 years ago


Great view - Rating 5/5

Beautiful house with lovely rooms and a great view over the bay. Very nice owners!

Reviewer:Mr. Norman S | Mon 12th Nov 2012 | 6 years ago


Wonderfull view - Rating 5/5

We had an overnight stay at Thornloe Guest House on our Whisky trip to the isle of islay. The en suite-rooms are very nice and clean and there's no noise from outside. The breakfast was also very good. We just saw in the morning, what a woderfull view over Oban you can enjoy at Thonloe. You will not be disappointed to say there an we can recommend Thornloe Guest House in every way, especially if you stay a few days in Oban, as it is situated very centrally.

Reviewer:Mr. Walter K | Sun 4th Nov 2012 | 6 years ago


Fantastic Hospitality - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay at Thornloe, very comfortbable bedroom to accommodate us and our two small children.Breakfast waswonderful.Val was a great host.

Reviewer:Mrs. Emma C | Thu 1st Nov 2012 | 6 years ago


Stay at Thornloe OBAN - Rating 5/5

Booking was easy.I arrived late off the Ferry but was greeted warmly.The room was very well organised. I had no time for breakfast but an excellent picnic was supplied that I thoroughly enjoyed. I felt safe and comfortable and hope to return. Thanks very much.

Reviewer:Sally W | Tue 9th Oct 2012 | 6 years ago


stay in Oban - Rating 5/5

we had a very pleasant stay at Thornloe House and were treated well.

Reviewer:Mrs. Robin H | Mon 17th Sep 2012 | 6 years ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

Very hospitable on very late notice.The room we stayed huge, updated, and very clean.The breakfast was amazing.Couldn't recommend more strongly!

Reviewer:Charlie & Megan I | Mon 10th Sep 2012 | 6 years ago


Very nice - Rating 5/5

Amazing views over the harbour from some rooms. Fridge in room was good. Well sized rooms, huge bed. Friendly people. 5 min walk to centre of town. Steep uphill walk back. Oban has over 300 rain days a year but this did not affect our sightseeing.

Reviewer:Chris E | Fri 7th Sep 2012 | 6 years ago


Great comfort and location - Rating 5/5

We had a very large bright room with a fabulous view. Very charming and old-fashioned feel but up to date comfort. Good breakfast and easy walk to the quay and everything we wanted to see. Had parking. Would definitely stay again and recommend.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jean H | Fri 31st Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Relaxing break - Rating 4/5

Very good B& B in Oban with great views over to the islands. Pleasant accommodation with good en-suite facilities. Quiet area. Relaxing decking area outside to sit and watch the ferries and sunsets.Great cooked breakfasts and very helpful and informative hosts. Fridge in room was a bonus.

Reviewer:Christine J | Thu 30th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Sea Side Resort - Rating 4/5

Oban in general was a dry break from the cooler areas up North. The sunset was awesome from our bedroom window and the rooms were comfortble and clean. Would have preferred less stairs especially with the double room on the second floor. Thornloe sits on a hill and on high grounds hence the lovely views. The Hosts were warm and kind but did not see them except for breakfast. Great spot to visit the West Isles.Ruth Brown -MALTA

Reviewer:Mrs. Ruth B | Tue 28th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Enjoyable stay - Rating 4/5

Helpful service, great breakfasts and a fantastic view from the bedroom.I was not a fan of the filter coffee but otherwise all was to my liking.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard G | Mon 27th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Our visit from Canada - Rating 4/5

Thank you so much for the wonderful stay.Your bed and breakfast was wonderful and was a great ending to our vacation in Scotland.We would definitely book with you again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Joyce S | Sun 26th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Review - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay. Our room had a very good view. The breakfasts were great and set us up for a full day's walking every day. Thornloe is very well organised. The location is excellent as it is quiet but also close to the main part of town convenient for buses, trains, ferries and good restaurants.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kate M | Sun 26th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Room very well appionted and comfortableExcellent breakfastI'd recommend this Guest House

Reviewer:Mr. Hugh G | Thu 23rd Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


The perfect stay - Rating 5/5

Fantastic location, sea views from back balcony and rear rooms breathtaking, only a short walk to town centre, Greatroom, spotlessly clean and very comfortable, caring and informativehosts, excellent breakfasts, all in all the perfect stay.

Reviewer:Mr. StephenW | Tue 21st Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Lovely guest house - Rating 4/5

Pleasant and comfortable stay with friendly hosts.The location was good and the view from our window was marvellous. Thank you.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs K | Sun 19th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Family Holiday - Rating 5/5

We all enjoyed our stay at Thornloe very much and would definitely consider staying there again.

Reviewer:Mr Jim S | Wed 15th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Accomodation- Rating 5/5

This is a lovely fell run estabishment with a very good position, the room and food are of a high standard.

Reviewer:Mr. DavidC | Mon 13th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


pam and bruces fab holiday. - Rating 5/5

We had a fantastic weeks stay a Thornloe partly due to beautiful Oban but greatly due to Thornloe. We had a fab room with a wonderful view of oban and islands. Val and Alan were brilliant as owners of Thornloe and exceptionally hospitable. We were very comfortable and thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts which were made completely to our own liking and would set us up for the day! Staying at Thornloe definitely impacted positivelyon our lovely stay. Thank -you so much Val and Alan. We willdefinitely visit again - perhaps for our silver wedding next year- thanks for choccies for this years anniversary.

Reviewer:Bruce A | Sun 12th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


relaxing holiday - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed the warm welcome, our comfortable bed, the spacious room, the delicious breakfasts and evening meals!!!

Reviewer:Brigitte And Jochen S | Sat 11th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

Thornloe is a well-located and well-maintained B& B. The proprietors are friendly and do their best to accommodate guests and provide recommendations about the area. The beds are comfortable and the cooked breakfast is tasty.There is no common sitting room and the overall decor could be modernized some (less floral), but it is a comfortable place for a short visit.

Reviewer:Mrs. Emily P | Tue 31st Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


Grat view over Oban - Rating 4/5

Nice view over Oban. Nice breakfast. Excellent terrace with a view

Reviewer:Mr. Lotta H | Thu 26th Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


Very good - Rating 5/5

It is a really nice place to stay on a great location in Oban. Very good breakfast, very friendly hosts.I had a wonderful time. When back again - it will be definitely Thornloe Guesthouse. Thank you.

Reviewer:Ms. Gesine B | Wed 25th Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


Review Thornloa - Rating 4/5

The Thornloe provided a perfect central venue for visiting areas of interest around Oban.The breakfast was of a high standard and easily catered for a gluten-free diet.The view of Oban harbour/water was superb from bedroom.

Reviewer:Mrs. Shirley J | Sun 22nd Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


Wonderful place - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay very much! We will spread the word about your beautiful guest house in Tirol/Italy!

Reviewer:Miss. Stefania K | Thu 19th Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


Very good - Rating 4/5

We had a very pleasantstay in your B and B. A beautiful room with a magnificient view.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert F | Sun 15th Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


Had the most wonderful stay! - Rating 5/5

Had the most wonderful stay!Our room was immaculatelyclean and tidy and we had the most fantastic view.Breakfast was delicious and the guest house has a warm and friendly atmosphere - nothing was too much trouble.I would recommend this guest house and would certainly stay here again.

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs E H | Tue 3rd Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


Great location, great beakfast! - Rating 5/5

We had a very good time during our stay in the Thornloe in Oban;the hosts were helpful and friendly and they cooked a very, very nice breakfast (we're foodies).The view from the B& B is to die for.All-in-0all, highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. Jean C C | Mon 2nd Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


recommendable - Rating 5/5

comfortable room, very friendly owner, good breakfast, great viewMany thanks!

Reviewer:Mr. Ronny G | Sun 1st Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


Lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

Val and Alan were very friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and well equipped with lovely large fluffy bath towels! We enjoyed the breakfasts and made the most of the wide choice available. A great place to stay in Oban!

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan S | Sat 23rd Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


Thornloe Guest House - Rating 5/5

Just back from visit to oban which was greatly enhanced by our stay at Thornloe Guest House. Great room, comfy beds,nicely furnished and what a view of the bay.The breakfasts were top notch.

Reviewer:Mrs. Christine W | Mon 18th Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


Stay in Oban - Rating 4/5

Had a lovelystay in Thonloe guesthouse. Beatiful deck with stunning views.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lilian M | Mon 18th Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely house and extremely well located for Oban, being set on a quiet road but only a couple of minutes walk away from the town.Nice large room, which was clean with a very comfortable bed.Breakfasts were exccellent and the scrambled egg with smoked salmon was one of the best I had during our two weeks in Scotland.Would definitely recommend.

Response

Thanks Angela for your lovely review following your recent stay with us. Glad to hear you would definitely recommend and look forward to your next visit for some more of our Argyll Smoked Salmon.Valerie & Alan (Chef)

Reviewer:Mrs. Angela M | Sun 17th Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


Superb Oban B&B - Rating 5/5

Oban was a "must visit"on our Scotland itinerary, so we stayed three days at the Thornloe. Nice big room with a fantastic view of the harbor. Beautiful gardens and a big outdoor deck for relaxing. Friendly staff and a first class breakfast. Hated to leave.

Response

Glad you both enjoyed your stay with us and had a chance to go on the Waverley Paddle Steamer.Alan & Val

Reviewer:Mr. Greg H | Wed 13th Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


Very Good - Rating 5/5

Very good, clean, welcoming, friendly and helpful. Would certainly visit again. Roger Saunders

Response

Glad you enjoyed your short break.Look forward to see-ing you on your next trip and meeting the new baby.Alan & Val

Reviewer:Roger & Sarah S | Tue 12th Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

I stayed here alone for a week and was made very welcome and looked after very well. I even sat and joined Pat and Alan outside on the terrace one evening and had a drink. They left me a little taster box of choccies in my room one day-thankyou. The room was very comfortable with TV, Fridge, Kettle, biscuits everyday, nice handwash and shower gel.The room and ensuite was spotless, no mould patches in the shower, soft fluffy towells and a comfy bed. My bedlamp stopped working and they couldnt sort it so brought me in a table lamp to use. The terrace and view is lovely. The breakfast was very good quality, well cooked with plenty of variety. I would also like to thank them from reintroducing silver shred marmalade into my life -i havent had this since i was little and will be off to buy some as soon as i get home.

Response

Thanks Zena for the lovely review-we even managed to keep the sunshine for you as you requested on our facebook page back in March.Alan & Val

Reviewer:Mrs. Zena B | Mon 11th Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


An excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Everything at Thornloe is perfect. Mrs Bichener greets you warmly in a very cosy atmosphere. The room I had was well decorated and had everything I could have needed. Even a small fridge. Breakfast was tops. You can leave your car and get around on foot. The surroundings are very quiet and, you can even enjoy the garden.I don't think I have a negative thing to say about Thornloe and, I can only sincerely recommend it. I'll be going back with pleasure next year !

Reviewer:Mrs. Francesca M | Wed 6th Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


A Great way to escape in Oban - Rating 5/5

we had a really excellent stay at the Thornloe, despite the 'damp' weather we were able to visit places, get wet, always secure in the knowledge that there was a warm room, hot shower and a really really great bed to collapse into! a warm welcome and great breakfast - what more can one say, but thank you!

Response

Glad you both enjoyed your stay. Sorry I did not manage the heat wave we are having to co-incide with your stay. Forecasted 26c and was over 30c.

Reviewer:Mr. Bruce L | Mon 21st May 2012 | 6 years ago


Pleasant & Relaxing - Rating 4/5

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay with you.Very comfortable accommodation, good food and nice people.Thank you.Ted

Response

Thanks Ted

Reviewer:Ted O | Sat 14th Apr 2012 | 6 years ago


Brilliant - Rating 5/5

Lovely place. Relaxed atmosphere. Generous ensuite single room. Nice touches of. complimentary bathroom items. Decking outside with seating overlooking the harbour lit by solar lights in the evening. Town center location but quiet. Charming & very helpful hosts. First time stay but I'll be back.

Response

Glad you enjoyed your short break with us before going to see your friends in Helensburgh. Look forward to see-ing you on your next trip.

Reviewer:Dave W | Fri 13th Apr 2012 | 6 years ago


A luxurious break. - Rating 5/5

Fantastic views from our well appointed room including very comfotable four poster bed.Breakfasts were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. We'll be back.

Response

To Frank & Valerie Glad you enjoyed your break last weekand look forward to see-ing you on your third stay with us.Alan & Valerie

Reviewer:Mr. Frank F | Thu 12th Apr 2012 | 6 years ago


Happy experience - Rating 5/5

Best views in Oban. Closest to swimming pool/leisure centre which has kids' activities and park. Ample, tasty and varied breakfast. Clean, quiet and well stocked bedroom, good hot shower. Kind, thoughtful, sensible people. Large, safe, pretty garden.Nous esperons y aller encore!

Response

Thanks for that Zoe. Hope the children recovered after their Stramash activities, there are some great pictures on the Facebook page.See you next time.

Reviewer:Zoe W | Fri 6th Apr 2012 | 6 years ago


Great b&b - Rating 5/5

I stopped here for a couple of nights,nothing was too much trouble for the owners,if you are looking for a quality b& b this is the place

Response

Thanks Mark

Reviewer:Mr Mark W | Fri 16th Mar 2012 | 6 years ago


Our Stay - Rating 5/5

We had a very pleasant stay at the Thornloe again.Valerie is a very friendly person who tries to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.She also had the very kind thought of liaving a small gift for me as it was my Birthday - a lovely thought and much appreciated.We will definately be back - loved our room - bed very comfortable and what a view!

Response

Glad you enjoyed your birthday get away.

Reviewer:Mrs. Margaret W | Thu 8th Mar 2012 | 6 years ago


Very nice, highly recommended - Rating 5/5

A lovely B& B, warm welcome upon arrival, nice comfortable beds with a warm, snug duvet where we slept deeply. Delicious, tasty breakfast, good central, peaceful location. Will stay again in future. I can highly recommend the Thornloe Guest House.

Response

Thanks and will see you both again in May.

Reviewer:Mr. Gregory B | Mon 6th Feb 2012 | 6 years ago


Great Service - Rating 5/5

fantastic location & service & rooms

Reviewer:Ash S | Sat 4th Feb 2012 | 6 years ago


Excellent place to stay - Rating 5/5

This is my number one choice of places to stay in Oban. Close to Atlantis Leisure, easy walk into town, comfortable rooms and great breakfast. Would recommend.

Reviewer:Mr. William W | Wed 25th Jan 2012 | 6 years ago


Hogmanay - Rating 5/5

Many thanks to Valerie and Allan for another enjoyable stay over New Year. We were amazed to discover it had been 7 years since we had visited Thornloe, we will not leave it as long next time. Our room was clean and comfortable with an excellent view over Oban bay. The breakfasts were tasty and filling, perfect for the morning after the night before! If you could only have sorted out the weather Valerie, it would have been a perfect stay in Oban, but we can't really blame you for that!! Thanks again and all the best for 2012. Gordon and Jackie Watt

Response

To Gordon & Jackie-at least I did manage to hold back the rain until after the fireworks display.Hope to see you before 2019......

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs Gordon W | Mon 9th Jan 2012 | 6 years ago


Great place to stay! - Rating 5/5

♫ Oh the weather outside was frightful;♫But the room was so delightful. ♪♫ We didn’t have anyplace to go, ♪Let it blow, let it blow, let it blow! ♫It was gale force winds and rain for the four days we were there. But you cannot blame our congenial hosts for the weather. It forced us to do what we went there to do-—rest. What a restful place it is! Comfortable room, great breakfast, and convenient to everything in Oban.We can recommend it.

Response

"♫ Always look on the bright side of life, always look on the light side of life ♫ "Glad you enjoyed your little break-despite the weather. Just as well you were not here in December as the gales were even worse then.

Reviewer:Mr. Jack C | Wed 30th Nov 2011 | 6 years ago


October 2011 - Rating 5/5

Very enjoyable stay, friendly, rooms very comfortable and clean, excellent breakfasts, lovely views, good location within town.Great value for money. Have stayed here several times in the past and will do again

Reviewer:Sheila & S | Sun 13th Nov 2011 | 7 years ago


Beautiful place to stay - Rating 5/5

My one night visit to Oban was a great experience, and I really enjoyed staying at the Thornloe.The room was clean, had everything I needed and a beautiful view. The walk into town was easy, and took only 2 or 3 minutes. The breakfast was excellent and there were no issues checking out in the morning. I'll gladly stay there again!

Reviewer:Mr. Peter C | Mon 7th Nov 2011 | 7 years ago


Loved that location - Rating 5/5

Although we had to bear the rest of hurricane Katia at Oban we felt really comfortable at Thornloe Guest House - it´s really nice and would in any case come back and recommend it to everybody.Reinhold and Priska

Reviewer:Mr. Reinhold M | Sat 15th Oct 2011 | 7 years ago


Friendly - Rating 4/5

A great place to stay. Friendly, with excellent breakfast and fabulous views. The room was clean and had everything I needed for a comfortable stay. Will definitely be back!

Reviewer:Lucy E | Mon 3rd Oct 2011 | 7 years ago


Rveiew of 2 nights at Thornloe - Rating 4/5

We stayed for 2 nights & appreciated the relaxed feel at Thornloe as well as the lovely views from our window (& also from the deck).We enjoyed our short stay very much & would be happy to return if we were in the area at some time in the future.Tony & Shiming Bundrock

Reviewer:Mr. Tony B | Sun 2nd Oct 2011 | 7 years ago


Family Holiday - Rating 5/5

We had a fantastic stay at Thornloe with the family.Really child-friendly;clean and friendly.Great value for money too. And a lovely breakfast!Thanks

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs M | Tue 27th Sep 2011 | 7 years ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Just here for 2 nights but excellent. Great breakfast and location good for town.Lovely soft towelling robes - nice touch!

Reviewer:Mr. J.martin M | Mon 26th Sep 2011 | 7 years ago


Home from home - Rating 4/5

We had a short break in Oban before travelling to the wet and windswept Isle of Coll.Thornloe was a comfortable and friendly place, close to the town and its many eateries.However its position up a steep hill may make it a less convenient place for the infirm. Though the establishment had a private carpark, it's a pity that parking in the town is less easy to find.We would certainly use Thornloe again.

Reviewer:Dr. David W | Wed 14th Sep 2011 | 7 years ago


review - Rating 5/5

Great Welcome and help from Val. Beautiful views over Oban Bay and harbour from front rooms. Great choice for breakfast and great location close to McCaig's tower and 5minute walk to main street in Oban. Will try and book again when returning to Oban.

Reviewer:Andy S | Mon 5th Sep 2011 | 7 years ago


Weekend in Oban - Rating 5/5

From the moment we arrived on Friday night to when we left after breakfast on Sunday, we were made to feel very welcome at the Thornloe Guest House. The large well equipped room had great views of Oban and was just a short walk away from this lovely town

Reviewer:Mr. Darren C | Sun 4th Sep 2011 | 7 years ago


Many thanks to Alan and Val for making our stay such a pleasant one. - Rating 5/5

I stayed with a friend for 3 days and found it a very pleasant time and made to feel very welcome. Room was very bright and airy also had lovely views - no complaints at all. Food was really good too. Would certainly recommend the Guest House to friends and family. Hope to return again soon. Many thanks to Alan and Val from us.

Response

Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. We have just enjoyed your wine from the new furniture in the garden.See you soon.

Reviewer:Mrs. Elizabeth F | Fri 26th Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


Felt like home - Rating 5/5

Nice house with tremendous view from the terrace and breakfast room. We had a very pleaseant stay. The service was great and personal. We got answers and help to all possible questions. Thank you Val, Alan and Calum

Reviewer:Pekka Pajuoja| Fri 12th Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


Best B&B in Oban - Rating 5/5

Thank you for looking after us last weekend, we had a great stay and will recommend you to others and if ever in Oban again we would stay here.The room was great, the breakfast was fantastic and the staff very helpful and full of recommendations for things to do in the area, they even booked us into the local seafood restaurant.Wonderful.

Reviewer:Frazer R | Mon 25th Jul 2011 | 7 years ago


Very Pleasant Staff - Rating 5/5

Great facilities overall.Wish they had a comfy living room area, however.Our triple room was great with a great view.Breakfast was also wonderful. I would definitely stay here again when in Oban and would recommend Thornloe to friends and family.

Reviewer:Mr. Kevin G | Sun 24th Jul 2011 | 7 years ago


A very enjoyable place! - Rating 5/5

During our trip through The Highlands we place Thornloe at the top of our list from the places we stayed. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean, and the view from our frontside room was priceless. The breakfast was excellent (scrambled eggs with salmon) and Valerie was a wonderful host and helpful with making decisions on what to see. We stayed on an extra 3rd night because of the ambience.

Reviewer:Mr. David S | Fri 22nd Jul 2011 | 7 years ago


Mixed Review - Rating 3/5

Lovely room, fabulous view and tasty breakfast, but not made to feel very welcome. No toiletries and no hairdryer.

Reviewer:L R | Mon 11th Jul 2011 | 7 years ago


Best guest house - Rating 5/5

Stayed for one night in July and it was very pleasant, great room, perfect breakfast and nice relaxed atmosphere. I would definitely recommend this guest house.

Response

Hi Will thanks for that. Hope to see you in August en route to European Championships.

Reviewer:Will W | Wed 6th Jul 2011 | 7 years ago


Comfortable and friendly - Rating 5/5

Great 4 night stay, with tasty breakfasts. Valerie & Allan very helpful with activity, dining & travel suggestions. Third floor view amazing.

Reviewer:Ms. Cynthea P | Thu 30th Jun 2011 | 7 years ago


May 2011 - Rating 5/5

We passed through Oban for two nights in early May - travelling The West Highland Line. Thornloe was very comfortable. We enjoyed the four-poster bed and the views across the busy harbour to Kerrera and beyond. Breakfast was as big as you wanted it. Valerie and Alan are obliging hosts. We felt that Oban and the islands deserve more of our time on another occasion. We would have no hesitation about making Thornloe our first choice for accommodation.

Reviewer:Mr B N | Sat 4th Jun 2011 | 7 years ago


Superb - Rating 5/5

Perfect location, great views and a warm welcome.Oban is the perfect base to explore the area and Thornloe is the an excellent choice for accomodation in this part of beautiful Scotland.Recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. Jeff C | Tue 31st May 2011 | 7 years ago


Great service Great Stay - Rating 4/5

We're really enjoyed our brief time at Thurloe (2 nights), especially the friendly manner of our host.

Reviewer:Mr. Mike & Liz R | Wed 25th May 2011 | 7 years ago


One of the best - Rating 5/5

Rooms, food and cleanliness excellent, to be recommended.

Reviewer:D& M W | Fri 20th May 2011 | 7 years ago


en route stay - Rating 4/5

A friedly welcome for a late evening arrival off a ferry;large, comfortable bed and good breakfast, ordered the night before on a sheet offering wide choice. Prompt service, with polite help from the owner's seven-year-old son.

Response

Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewer:Mr B | Mon 16th May 2011 | 7 years ago


Beautiful views, friendly welcome - Rating 5/5

We stayed over Easter at Thornloe with our 5 year old daughter and had a thoroughly enjoyable weekend.The room was comfy, good size and had the most wonderful views.Valerie was very welcoming and made us feel right at home.Breakfast was good too, and the Easter bunny even visited!

Reviewer:Mrs. Marian L | Wed 11th May 2011 | 7 years ago


excellent- Rating 5/5

all you could ask for to make your stay in oban one to remember , location , food and rooms all excellent

Reviewer:Mr. Michael S | Tue 26th Apr 2011 | 7 years ago


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Lakeside
  • Wifi