Reviews

What people are saying about Thornloe Guest House




3 night stay - Rating 5/5

Loved the room, lovely, spacious, very clean and bed was soooo comfy. The view from the room was amazing. Hostess was lovely, breakfast wonderful.

Response

Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to see-ing you on your next trip to Oban.

Reviewer: Michael McConnell | Sat 15th Apr 2017


Super friendly - Great View - Lovely Breakfast - Rating 5/5

What a gem of a place to find. Excellent quality, in a great location, fantastic view across to Mull, friendly owners and a top notch breakfast. Definitely one to return to. Thank You

Response

Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to see-ing you on your next trip. Alan & Valerie

Reviewer: Mr. John Frid | Tue 4th Apr 2017


New Year in Oban! - Rating 5/5

Very clean & welcoming B&B, great hearty breakfast!. The room we had, room 2, was lovely & warm & very spacious, with a fantastic view across the bay. Hope to see in New year 2017 here again, see you in December!

Response

Glad you both enjoyed your break. See you later this year.

Reviewer: Mrs. Jennifer McKeand | Thu 12th Jan 2017


2 day break - Rating 5/5

Had a good stay view from room was amazing Host very welcoming Breakfast was great Great place to stay

Response

Glad you enjoyed yourselves. Hope to see you again.

Reviewer: James Sweeney | Mon 2nd Jan 2017


good location - Rating 4/5

Had a very comfortabe two night stay. The little extra touches were appreciated. Pleanty of choices for breakfast.

Response

Many thanks and look forward to welcoming you back to Thornloe next time.

Reviewer: Irene Wallace | Mon 2nd May 2016


Oban Stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent room and very large and comfortable bed - well deserved 4 star B&B and the breakfast was one of the best for a long time.

Response

Many thanks for the lovely review Mike.

Reviewer: Mike Groden | Sat 17th Oct 2015


Perfect accommodation. - Rating 5/5

Staying @ Thornloe made our stay in Oban perfect. This is our 3rd time in Oban and this was our best accommodation. The Guest house has brilliant comfortable beds, good breakfast plus a great location close to town centre. Thank-you for our lovely stay.

Response

Thanks and look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Reviewer: Anne Nelson | Fri 25th Sep 2015


Geology History reading - Rating 5/5

The Map that Changed the World, by Simon Winchester. As a geology student this book is highly recommended.

Response

Thanks for that. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewer: Mr. Keith Morris | Sat 11th Oct 2014


Thornloe Guest House - Rating 4/5

James Campbell was our guide who made the reservation. Although we would have had trouble finding the house on our own, the room was excellent!! Very large, clean, quiet, with a gorgeous view of the bay. Our hosts were very friendly, and the breakfast was delicious. I would recommend this guest house to anyone staying in Oban. C. Jackson, USA

Response

Many thanks

Reviewer: James Campbell | Fri 25th Apr 2014


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent welcome, accommodation and food. Should we return to Oban, the B & B address is obvious!

Reviewer: Martin TUNSTALL | Fri 7th Jun 2013


Thank you! - Rating 5/5

If we are back in Oban-we know where to stay...

Reviewer: Ms. Dorota Marciniec | Wed 22nd May 2013


Top B&B - Rating 4/5

Great place well located in Oban. Very comfortable and welcoming. Excellent breakfast

Reviewer: Mr Neil Jellings | Sun 19th May 2013


Full marks - Rating 5/5

Very friendly welcome, immaculate room, delicious breakfast. Sorry that our stay was only for one night. As for the view..... couldn't be better, even through the rain! Thank you again.....will spread the word!

Reviewer: Jinty McKirdy | Tue 16th Apr 2013


Thank you! - Rating 5/5

The room, the view and breakfasts were perfect! We had a great time in Oban.

Reviewer: Miss. Lorraine Filippozzi | Mon 8th Apr 2013


Excellent B+B – Relaxing Stay – Amazing View - Rating 5/5

We stayed in Room 6 which had been advertised as having ‘a sea view’, I am often wary of these claims as ‘the view’ is often only seen if you have a very good imagination! Not so here, the view was stunning, looking out over Oban Bay across to the Isle of Mull. We were able to watch the ferries, boats coming and going and on the weekend we stayed there was even a sperm whale in the bay. The room was spotless and the bed enormous and extremely comfortable, I enjoyed the best nights sleep in ages. The breakfast was fantastic with plenty of choice to cater for any taste all washed down with a large pot of excellent coffee. Val our host was friendly and nothing was too much trouble, even making us an early breakfast and recommending places to eat. Location wise it's perfect, only a few minutes walk into town and access to all that Oban has to offer. We would recommend Thornloe as the place to stay in Oban. Many thanks for a great stay.

Response

Thanks Jane Glad you both enjoyed your stay- yes we definitely have stunning views in fact I photographed the whale from your window !!. He is still here. We aim to provide large comfortable beds and a good choice of freshly cooked breakfasts using local produce where possible and pleased to read your lovely comments.

Reviewer: Mrs. Jane Taylor | Wed 3rd Apr 2013


Why I keep returning! - Rating 5/5

Great welcome from Val at Thornloe each time- feel at home immediately- nothing's a bother to her(even gave lift to station as raining when I left!) Very comfy bed, good cupboard space, radiator still on at midnight and again early morning - a definite plus at my age( mid sixties);lovely clean toilet/ shower room, heated towel rail ; delicious breakfast in spotlessly clean dining room, linen table covers and napkins, excellent selection of cereal, fresh fruit etc, milk and fresh juice in small fridge and superb view over bay( same from some bedrooms). No complaints- highly recommend - also, pricewise excellent value for money.... brilliant packed breakfast provided if leaving on early train-what more could a body ask?!

Response

Thanks Erika for the lovely comments See you next year!! Val

Reviewer: Erika Fields | Sat 9th Mar 2013


Great view - Rating 5/5

Beautiful house with lovely rooms and a great view over the bay. Very nice owners!

Reviewer: Mr. Norman Schuldt | Mon 12th Nov 2012


Wonderfull view - Rating 5/5

We had an overnight stay at Thornloe Guest House on our Whisky trip to the isle of islay. The en suite-rooms are very nice and clean and there's no noise from outside. The breakfast was also very good. We just saw in the morning, what a woderfull view over Oban you can enjoy at Thonloe. You will not be disappointed to say there an we can recommend Thornloe Guest House in every way, especially if you stay a few days in Oban, as it is situated very centrally.

Reviewer: Mr. Walter Kaelin | Sun 4th Nov 2012


Fantastic Hospitality - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay at Thornloe, very comfortbable bedroom to accommodate us and our two small children. Breakfast was wonderful. Val was a great host.

Reviewer: Mrs. Emma Crawford | Thu 1st Nov 2012


Stay at Thornloe OBAN - Rating 5/5

Booking was easy. I arrived late off the Ferry but was greeted warmly. The room was very well organised. I had no time for breakfast but an excellent picnic was supplied that I thoroughly enjoyed. I felt safe and comfortable and hope to return. Thanks very much.

Reviewer: Sally Walker | Tue 9th Oct 2012


stay in Oban - Rating 5/5

we had a very pleasant stay at Thornloe House and were treated well.

Reviewer: Mrs. Robin Haller | Mon 17th Sep 2012


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

Very hospitable on very late notice. The room we stayed huge, updated, and very clean. The breakfast was amazing. Couldn't recommend more strongly!

Reviewer: Charlie & Megan Inglefield | Mon 10th Sep 2012


Very nice - Rating 5/5

Amazing views over the harbour from some rooms. Fridge in room was good. Well sized rooms, huge bed. Friendly people. 5 min walk to centre of town. Steep uphill walk back. Oban has over 300 rain days a year but this did not affect our sightseeing.

Reviewer: Chris Emery | Fri 7th Sep 2012


Great comfort and location - Rating 5/5

We had a very large bright room with a fabulous view. Very charming and old-fashioned feel but up to date comfort. Good breakfast and easy walk to the quay and everything we wanted to see. Had parking. Would definitely stay again and recommend.

Reviewer: Mrs. Jean Hunter | Fri 31st Aug 2012


Relaxing break - Rating 4/5

Very good B&B in Oban with great views over to the islands. Pleasant accommodation with good en-suite facilities. Quiet area. Relaxing decking area outside to sit and watch the ferries and sunsets. Great cooked breakfasts and very helpful and informative hosts. Fridge in room was a bonus.

Reviewer: Christine Jones | Thu 30th Aug 2012


Sea Side Resort - Rating 4/5

Oban in general was a dry break from the cooler areas up North. The sunset was awesome from our bedroom window and the rooms were comfortble and clean. Would have preferred less stairs especially with the double room on the second floor. Thornloe sits on a hill and on high grounds hence the lovely views. The Hosts were warm and kind but did not see them except for breakfast. Great spot to visit the West Isles. Ruth Brown - MALTA

Reviewer: Mrs. Ruth Brown | Tue 28th Aug 2012


Enjoyable stay - Rating 4/5

Helpful service, great breakfasts and a fantastic view from the bedroom. I was not a fan of the filter coffee but otherwise all was to my liking.

Reviewer: Mr. Richard Gray | Mon 27th Aug 2012


Our visit from Canada - Rating 4/5

Thank you so much for the wonderful stay. Your bed and breakfast was wonderful and was a great ending to our vacation in Scotland. We would definitely book with you again.

Reviewer: Mrs. Joyce Smith | Sun 26th Aug 2012


Review - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay. Our room had a very good view. The breakfasts were great and set us up for a full day's walking every day. Thornloe is very well organised. The location is excellent as it is quiet but also close to the main part of town convenient for buses, trains, ferries and good restaurants.

Reviewer: Mrs. Kate Mawer | Sun 26th Aug 2012


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Room very well appionted and comfortable Excellent breakfast I'd recommend this Guest House

Reviewer: Mr. Hugh Gardiner | Thu 23rd Aug 2012


The perfect stay - Rating 5/5

Fantastic location, sea views from back balcony and rear rooms breathtaking, only a short walk to town centre, Great room, spotlessly clean and very comfortable, caring and informative hosts, excellent breakfasts, all in all the perfect stay.

Reviewer: Mr. Stephen Wood | Tue 21st Aug 2012


Lovely guest house - Rating 4/5

Pleasant and comfortable stay with friendly hosts.The location was good and the view from our window was marvellous. Thank you.

Reviewer: Mr & Mrs Kirk | Sun 19th Aug 2012


Family Holiday - Rating 5/5

We all enjoyed our stay at Thornloe very much and would definitely consider staying there again.

Reviewer: Mr Jim Speirs | Wed 15th Aug 2012


Accomodation - Rating 5/5

This is a lovely fell run estabishment with a very good position, the room and food are of a high standard.

Reviewer: Mr. David Chalmers | Mon 13th Aug 2012


pam and bruces fab holiday. - Rating 5/5

We had a fantastic weeks stay a Thornloe partly due to beautiful Oban but greatly due to Thornloe. We had a fab room with a wonderful view of oban and islands. Val and Alan were brilliant as owners of Thornloe and exceptionally hospitable. We were very comfortable and thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts which were made completely to our own liking and would set us up for the day! Staying at Thornloe definitely impacted positively on our lovely stay. Thank -you so much Val and Alan. We will definitely visit again - perhaps for our silver wedding next year- thanks for choccies for this years anniversary.

Reviewer: Bruce Anderson | Sun 12th Aug 2012


relaxing holiday - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed the warm welcome, our comfortable bed, the spacious room, the delicious breakfasts and evening meals!!!

Reviewer: Brigitte And Jochen Schneider | Sat 11th Aug 2012


Pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

Thornloe is a well-located and well-maintained B&B. The proprietors are friendly and do their best to accommodate guests and provide recommendations about the area. The beds are comfortable and the cooked breakfast is tasty. There is no common sitting room and the overall decor could be modernized some (less floral), but it is a comfortable place for a short visit.

Reviewer: Mrs. Emily Perry | Tue 31st Jul 2012


Grat view over Oban - Rating 4/5

Nice view over Oban. Nice breakfast. Excellent terrace with a view

Reviewer: Mr. Lotta Hallenius | Thu 26th Jul 2012


Very good - Rating 5/5

It is a really nice place to stay on a great location in Oban. Very good breakfast, very friendly hosts.I had a wonderful time. When back again - it will be definitely Thornloe Guesthouse. Thank you.

Reviewer: Ms. Gesine Beuge | Wed 25th Jul 2012


Review Thornloa - Rating 4/5

The Thornloe provided a perfect central venue for visiting areas of interest around Oban. The breakfast was of a high standard and easily catered for a gluten-free diet. The view of Oban harbour/water was superb from bedroom.

Reviewer: Mrs. Shirley James | Sun 22nd Jul 2012


Wonderful place - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay very much! We will spread the word about your beautiful guest house in Tirol/Italy!

Reviewer: Miss. Stefania Kerschbaumer | Thu 19th Jul 2012


Very good - Rating 4/5

We had a very pleasant stay in your B and B. A beautiful room with a magnificient view.

Reviewer: Mr. Robert Floor | Sun 15th Jul 2012


Had the most wonderful stay! - Rating 5/5

Had the most wonderful stay! Our room was immaculately clean and tidy and we had the most fantastic view. Breakfast was delicious and the guest house has a warm and friendly atmosphere - nothing was too much trouble. I would recommend this guest house and would certainly stay here again.

Reviewer: Mr & Mrs E Hall | Tue 3rd Jul 2012


Great location, great beakfast! - Rating 5/5

We had a very good time during our stay in the Thornloe in Oban; the hosts were helpful and friendly and they cooked a very, very nice breakfast (we're foodies). The view from the B&B is to die for. All-in-0all, highly recommended.

Reviewer: Mr. Jean C Clement | Mon 2nd Jul 2012


recommendable - Rating 5/5

comfortable room, very friendly owner, good breakfast, great view Many thanks!

Reviewer: Mr. Ronny Gleisberg | Sun 1st Jul 2012


Lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

Val and Alan were very friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and well equipped with lovely large fluffy bath towels! We enjoyed the breakfasts and made the most of the wide choice available. A great place to stay in Oban!

Reviewer: Mrs. Susan Snape | Sat 23rd Jun 2012


Thornloe Guest House - Rating 5/5

Just back from visit to oban which was greatly enhanced by our stay at Thornloe Guest House. Great room, comfy beds,nicely furnished and what a view of the bay.The breakfasts were top notch.

Reviewer: Mrs. Christine Williamson | Mon 18th Jun 2012


Stay in Oban - Rating 4/5

Had a lovely stay in Thonloe guesthouse. Beatiful deck with stunning views.

Reviewer: Mrs. Lilian Malipaart | Mon 18th Jun 2012


Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely house and extremely well located for Oban, being set on a quiet road but only a couple of minutes walk away from the town. Nice large room, which was clean with a very comfortable bed. Breakfasts were exccellent and the scrambled egg with smoked salmon was one of the best I had during our two weeks in Scotland. Would definitely recommend.

Response

Thanks Angela for your lovely review following your recent stay with us. Glad to hear you would definitely recommend and look forward to your next visit for some more of our Argyll Smoked Salmon. Valerie & Alan (Chef)

Reviewer: Mrs. Angela Milsom | Sun 17th Jun 2012


Superb Oban B&B - Rating 5/5

Oban was a "must visit" on our Scotland itinerary, so we stayed three days at the Thornloe. Nice big room with a fantastic view of the harbor. Beautiful gardens and a big outdoor deck for relaxing. Friendly staff and a first class breakfast. Hated to leave.

Response

Glad you both enjoyed your stay with us and had a chance to go on the Waverley Paddle Steamer. Alan & Val

Reviewer: Mr. Greg Harris | Wed 13th Jun 2012


Very Good - Rating 5/5

Very good, clean, welcoming, friendly and helpful. Would certainly visit again. Roger Saunders

Response

Glad you enjoyed your short break.Look forward to see-ing you on your next trip and meeting the new baby. Alan & Val

Reviewer: Roger & Sarah Saunders | Tue 12th Jun 2012


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

I stayed here alone for a week and was made very welcome and looked after very well. I even sat and joined Pat and Alan outside on the terrace one evening and had a drink. They left me a little taster box of choccies in my room one day-thankyou. The room was very comfortable with TV, Fridge, Kettle, biscuits everyday, nice handwash and shower gel.The room and ensuite was spotless, no mould patches in the shower, soft fluffy towells and a comfy bed. My bedlamp stopped working and they couldnt sort it so brought me in a table lamp to use. The terrace and view is lovely. The breakfast was very good quality, well cooked with plenty of variety. I would also like to thank them from reintroducing silver shred marmalade into my life -i havent had this since i was little and will be off to buy some as soon as i get home.

Response

Thanks Zena for the lovely review-we even managed to keep the sunshine for you as you requested on our facebook page back in March. Alan & Val

Reviewer: Mrs. Zena Braithwaite | Mon 11th Jun 2012


An excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Everything at Thornloe is perfect. Mrs Bichener greets you warmly in a very cosy atmosphere. The room I had was well decorated and had everything I could have needed. Even a small fridge. Breakfast was tops. You can leave your car and get around on foot. The surroundings are very quiet and, you can even enjoy the garden. I don't think I have a negative thing to say about Thornloe and, I can only sincerely recommend it. I'll be going back with pleasure next year !

Reviewer: Mrs. Francesca Mercurin | Wed 6th Jun 2012


A Great way to escape in Oban - Rating 5/5

we had a really excellent stay at the Thornloe, despite the 'damp' weather we were able to visit places, get wet, always secure in the knowledge that there was a warm room, hot shower and a really really great bed to collapse into! a warm welcome and great breakfast - what more can one say, but thank you!

Response

Glad you both enjoyed your stay. Sorry I did not manage the heat wave we are having to co-incide with your stay. Forecasted 26c and was over 30c.

Reviewer: Mr. Bruce Leigh | Mon 21st May 2012


Pleasant & Relaxing - Rating 4/5

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay with you. Very comfortable accommodation, good food and nice people. Thank you. Ted

Response

Thanks Ted

Reviewer: Ted O'Connell | Sat 14th Apr 2012


Brilliant - Rating 5/5

Lovely place. Relaxed atmosphere. Generous ensuite single room. Nice touches of. complimentary bathroom items. Decking outside with seating overlooking the harbour lit by solar lights in the evening. Town center location but quiet. Charming & very helpful hosts. First time stay but I'll be back.

Response

Glad you enjoyed your short break with us before going to see your friends in Helensburgh. Look forward to see-ing you on your next trip.

Reviewer: Dave Wynne | Fri 13th Apr 2012


A luxurious break. - Rating 5/5

Fantastic views from our well appointed room including very comfotable four poster bed. Breakfasts were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. We'll be back.

Response

To Frank & Valerie Glad you enjoyed your break last week and look forward to see-ing you on your third stay with us. Alan & Valerie

Reviewer: Mr. Frank Flood | Thu 12th Apr 2012


Happy experience - Rating 5/5

Best views in Oban. Closest to swimming pool/leisure centre which has kids' activities and park. Ample, tasty and varied breakfast. Clean, quiet and well stocked bedroom, good hot shower. Kind, thoughtful, sensible people. Large, safe, pretty garden. Nous esperons y aller encore!

Response

Thanks for that Zoe. Hope the children recovered after their Stramash activities, there are some great pictures on the Facebook page. See you next time.

Reviewer: Zoe Weir | Fri 6th Apr 2012


Great b&b - Rating 5/5

I stopped here for a couple of nights,nothing was too much trouble for the owners,if you are looking for a quality b&b this is the place

Response

Thanks Mark

Reviewer: Mr Mark Wilkinson | Fri 16th Mar 2012


Our Stay - Rating 5/5

We had a very pleasant stay at the Thornloe again. Valerie is a very friendly person who tries to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. She also had the very kind thought of liaving a small gift for me as it was my Birthday - a lovely thought and much appreciated. We will definately be back - loved our room - bed very comfortable and what a view!

Response

Glad you enjoyed your birthday get away.

Reviewer: Mrs. Margaret Weightman | Thu 8th Mar 2012


Very nice, highly recommended - Rating 5/5

A lovely B&B, warm welcome upon arrival, nice comfortable beds with a warm, snug duvet where we slept deeply. Delicious, tasty breakfast, good central, peaceful location. Will stay again in future. I can highly recommend the Thornloe Guest House.

Response

Thanks and will see you both again in May.

Reviewer: Mr. Gregory Burton | Mon 6th Feb 2012


Great Service - Rating 5/5

fantastic location & service & rooms

Reviewer: Ash Shifhodia | Sat 4th Feb 2012


Excellent place to stay - Rating 5/5

This is my number one choice of places to stay in Oban. Close to Atlantis Leisure, easy walk into town, comfortable rooms and great breakfast. Would recommend.

Reviewer: Mr. William Wright | Wed 25th Jan 2012


Hogmanay - Rating 5/5

Many thanks to Valerie and Allan for another enjoyable stay over New Year. We were amazed to discover it had been 7 years since we had visited Thornloe, we will not leave it as long next time. Our room was clean and comfortable with an excellent view over Oban bay. The breakfasts were tasty and filling, perfect for the morning after the night before! If you could only have sorted out the weather Valerie, it would have been a perfect stay in Oban, but we can't really blame you for that!! Thanks again and all the best for 2012. Gordon and Jackie Watt

Response

To Gordon & Jackie-at least I did manage to hold back the rain until after the fireworks display. Hope to see you before 2019......

Reviewer: Mr & Mrs Gordon Watt | Mon 9th Jan 2012


Great place to stay! - Rating 5/5

♫ Oh the weather outside was frightful; ♫ But the room was so delightful. ♪ ♫ We didn’t have anyplace to go, ♪ Let it blow, let it blow, let it blow! ♫ It was gale force winds and rain for the four days we were there. But you cannot blame our congenial hosts for the weather. It forced us to do what we went there to do-—rest. What a restful place it is! Comfortable room, great breakfast, and convenient to everything in Oban. We can recommend it.

Response

"♫ Always look on the bright side of life, always look on the light side of life ♫ " Glad you enjoyed your little break-despite the weather. Just as well you were not here in December as the gales were even worse then.

Reviewer: Mr. Jack Chalk | Wed 30th Nov 2011


October 2011 - Rating 5/5

Very enjoyable stay, friendly, rooms very comfortable and clean, excellent breakfasts, lovely views, good location within town. Great value for money. Have stayed here several times in the past and will do again

Reviewer: Sheila & SandraThomson | Sun 13th Nov 2011


Beautiful place to stay - Rating 5/5

My one night visit to Oban was a great experience, and I really enjoyed staying at the Thornloe. The room was clean, had everything I needed and a beautiful view. The walk into town was easy, and took only 2 or 3 minutes. The breakfast was excellent and there were no issues checking out in the morning. I'll gladly stay there again!

Reviewer: Mr. Peter Carlson | Mon 7th Nov 2011


Loved that location - Rating 5/5

Although we had to bear the rest of hurricane Katia at Oban we felt really comfortable at Thornloe Guest House - it´s really nice and would in any case come back and recommend it to everybody. Reinhold and Priska

Reviewer: Mr. Reinhold Merkle | Sat 15th Oct 2011


Friendly - Rating 4/5

A great place to stay. Friendly, with excellent breakfast and fabulous views. The room was clean and had everything I needed for a comfortable stay. Will definitely be back!

Reviewer: Lucy Eland | Mon 3rd Oct 2011


Rveiew of 2 nights at Thornloe - Rating 4/5

We stayed for 2 nights & appreciated the relaxed feel at Thornloe as well as the lovely views from our window (& also from the deck). We enjoyed our short stay very much & would be happy to return if we were in the area at some time in the future. Tony & Shiming Bundrock

Reviewer: Mr. Tony Bundrock | Sun 2nd Oct 2011


Family Holiday - Rating 5/5

We had a fantastic stay at Thornloe with the family. Really child-friendly; clean and friendly. Great value for money too. And a lovely breakfast! Thanks

Reviewer: Mr & Mrs Morgan | Tue 27th Sep 2011


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Just here for 2 nights but excellent. Great breakfast and location good for town. Lovely soft towelling robes - nice touch!

Reviewer: Mr. J.martin Mckean | Mon 26th Sep 2011


Home from home - Rating 4/5

We had a short break in Oban before travelling to the wet and windswept Isle of Coll. Thornloe was a comfortable and friendly place, close to the town and its many eateries. However its position up a steep hill may make it a less convenient place for the infirm. Though the establishment had a private carpark, it's a pity that parking in the town is less easy to find. We would certainly use Thornloe again.

Reviewer: Dr. David Walsh | Wed 14th Sep 2011


review - Rating 5/5

Great Welcome and help from Val. Beautiful views over Oban Bay and harbour from front rooms. Great choice for breakfast and great location close to McCaig's tower and 5minute walk to main street in Oban. Will try and book again when returning to Oban.

Reviewer: Andy Short | Mon 5th Sep 2011


Weekend in Oban - Rating 5/5

From the moment we arrived on Friday night to when we left after breakfast on Sunday, we were made to feel very welcome at the Thornloe Guest House. The large well equipped room had great views of Oban and was just a short walk away from this lovely town

Reviewer: Mr. Darren Clark | Sun 4th Sep 2011


Many thanks to Alan and Val for making our stay such a pleasant one. - Rating 5/5

I stayed with a friend for 3 days and found it a very pleasant time and made to feel very welcome. Room was very bright and airy also had lovely views - no complaints at all. Food was really good too. Would certainly recommend the Guest House to friends and family. Hope to return again soon. Many thanks to Alan and Val from us.

Response

Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. We have just enjoyed your wine from the new furniture in the garden. See you soon.

Reviewer: Mrs. Elizabeth Fox | Fri 26th Aug 2011


Felt like home - Rating 5/5

Nice house with tremendous view from the terrace and breakfast room. We had a very pleaseant stay. The service was great and personal. We got answers and help to all possible questions. Thank you Val, Alan and Calum

Reviewer: Pekka Pajuoja | Fri 12th Aug 2011


Best B&B in Oban - Rating 5/5

Thank you for looking after us last weekend, we had a great stay and will recommend you to others and if ever in Oban again we would stay here. The room was great, the breakfast was fantastic and the staff very helpful and full of recommendations for things to do in the area, they even booked us into the local seafood restaurant. Wonderful.

Reviewer: Frazer Rankin | Mon 25th Jul 2011


Very Pleasant Staff - Rating 5/5

Great facilities overall. Wish they had a comfy living room area, however. Our triple room was great with a great view. Breakfast was also wonderful. I would definitely stay here again when in Oban and would recommend Thornloe to friends and family.

Reviewer: Mr. Kevin Godfrey | Sun 24th Jul 2011


A very enjoyable place! - Rating 5/5

During our trip through The Highlands we place Thornloe at the top of our list from the places we stayed. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean, and the view from our frontside room was priceless. The breakfast was excellent (scrambled eggs with salmon) and Valerie was a wonderful host and helpful with making decisions on what to see. We stayed on an extra 3rd night because of the ambience.

Reviewer: Mr. David Sutherland | Fri 22nd Jul 2011


Mixed Review - Rating 3/5

Lovely room, fabulous view and tasty breakfast, but not made to feel very welcome. No toiletries and no hairdryer.

Reviewer: L Reid | Mon 11th Jul 2011


Best guest house - Rating 5/5

Stayed for one night in July and it was very pleasant, great room, perfect breakfast and nice relaxed atmosphere. I would definitely recommend this guest house.

Response

Hi Will thanks for that. Hope to see you in August en route to European Championships.

Reviewer: Will Wright | Wed 6th Jul 2011


Comfortable and friendly - Rating 5/5

Great 4 night stay, with tasty breakfasts. Valerie & Allan very helpful with activity, dining & travel suggestions. Third floor view amazing.

Reviewer: Ms. Cynthea Penman | Thu 30th Jun 2011


May 2011 - Rating 5/5

We passed through Oban for two nights in early May - travelling The West Highland Line. Thornloe was very comfortable. We enjoyed the four-poster bed and the views across the busy harbour to Kerrera and beyond. Breakfast was as big as you wanted it. Valerie and Alan are obliging hosts. We felt that Oban and the islands deserve more of our time on another occasion. We would have no hesitation about making Thornloe our first choice for accommodation.

Reviewer: Mr B Neville | Sat 4th Jun 2011


Superb - Rating 5/5

Perfect location, great views and a warm welcome. Oban is the perfect base to explore the area and Thornloe is the an excellent choice for accomodation in this part of beautiful Scotland. Recommended.

Reviewer: Mr. Jeff Carter | Tue 31st May 2011


Great service Great Stay - Rating 4/5

We're really enjoyed our brief time at Thurloe (2 nights), especially the friendly manner of our host.

Reviewer: Mr. Mike & Liz Rooke | Wed 25th May 2011


One of the best - Rating 5/5

Rooms, food and cleanliness excellent, to be recommended.

Reviewer: D& M White | Fri 20th May 2011


en route stay - Rating 4/5

A friedly welcome for a late evening arrival off a ferry; large, comfortable bed and good breakfast, ordered the night before on a sheet offering wide choice. Prompt service, with polite help from the owner's seven-year-old son.

Response

Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewer: Mr Barlow | Mon 16th May 2011


Beautiful views, friendly welcome - Rating 5/5

We stayed over Easter at Thornloe with our 5 year old daughter and had a thoroughly enjoyable weekend. The room was comfy, good size and had the most wonderful views. Valerie was very welcoming and made us feel right at home. Breakfast was good too, and the Easter bunny even visited!

Reviewer: Mrs. Marian Lartey | Wed 11th May 2011


excellent - Rating 5/5

all you could ask for to make your stay in oban one to remember , location , food and rooms all excellent

Reviewer: Mr. Michael Shields | Tue 26th Apr 2011


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Golf Course Nearby
  • Lakeside
  • Wifi